Konzert Counter & Strings am Samstag, 11. Juni um 19:30 in der Katholischen Pfarrkirche Bad Ischl

The vocal discipline "countertenor" is usually associated with heroic roles in operas by Händel, with Bach passions, and indeed with baroque music in historically informed performance practice in general, much less with chanting or folk music. In rock and pop music, men often sing in this high register, but with a completely different vocal technique. Alois Mühlbacher, who already caused a sensation as soloist of the St. Florian Boys' Choir with cross-genre recordings, also shows as an adult countertenor that he has extraordinary things to offer in all styles. He is an internationally sought-after soloist in the field of baroque music for operas and concerts, but he also stages recitals with romantic and modern repertoire. 

Even as a child, he gave concerts with outstanding folk music ensembles and thus learned the tradition of authentic folk music virtually at first hand. 

Since its founding in 1997, the Upper Austrian "Spring String Quartet" has been one of Europe's leading jazz-rock-classical-crossover string quartets, shattering all common "violin music" clichés and redefining the artistic expression of the classical string quartet.

Together with Alois Mühlbacher, the ensemble produced a highly acclaimed music video two years ago: the Queen song "Don't stop me now" (backed by Mozart music in an ingenious arrangement by Georg Wiesinger). 

Out of this success an artistic friendship was born, which now results in the concert program "Counter & Strings". The vocal art of Alois Mühlbacher and the virtuosity of the "Spring String Quartet" will be shown in various genres from folk music to popular music.

Admission € 25 | € 20

Salzkammergut Festwochen Gmunden

Copyrights: (c) Alexander Eder, (c) Bianca Freilinger

 

Konzert Counter & Strings am Samstag, 11. Juni um 19:30 in der Katholischen Pfarrkirche Bad Ischl

Konzert Counter & Strings am Samstag, 11. Juni um 19:30 in der Katholischen Pfarrkirche Bad Ischl

Das Stimmfach „Countertenor“ verbindet man üblicherweise mit Heldenrollen in Opern von Händel, mit Bach-Passionen, ja überhaupt mit Barockmusik in historisch informierter Aufführungspraxis, viel weniger mit Liedgesang oder Volksmusik. In der Rock- und Popmusik singen Männer zwar oft in dieser hohen Lage, aber mit einer ganz anderen Stimmtechnik. Alois Mühlbacher, der schon als Solist der St. Florianer Sängerknaben mit grenzüberschreitenden Aufnahmen Aufsehen erregt hat, zeigt auch als erwachsener Countertenor, dass er in allen Stilrichtungen Außergewöhnliches zu bieten hat. Er ist ein international gefragter Solist auf dem Gebiet der Barockmusik in Oper und Konzert, gibt aber auch Liederabende mit romantischem und modernem Repertoire. 

Schon im Kindesalter gab er Konzerte mit hervorragenden Volksmusikensembles und lernte so die Tradition der „echten“ Volksmusik quasi aus erster Hand kennen. 

Das oberösterreichische „Spring String Quartet“ zählt seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1997 zu den führenden Jazz-Rock-ClassicalCrossover Streichquartetten Europas und zertrümmert dabei sämtliche gängige „Geigenmusik“-Klischees und definiert die künstlerischen Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten des klassischen Streichquartetts neu.

Mit Alois Mühlbacher gemeinsam produzierte das Ensemble vor zwei Jahren ein viel beachtetes Musikvideo: den (in einem genialen Arrangement von Georg Wiesinger mit Mozart-Musik hinterlegten) Queen-Song „Don´t stop me now“. 

Aus diesem Erfolg heraus entstand eine künstlerische Freundschaft, die nun in einem Konzertprogramm, „Counter & Strings“ mündet. Dabei soll die Gesangskunst von Alois Mühlbacher und die Virtuosität des „Spring String Quartets“ in den verschiedensten Genres (von Volksmusik bis Popularmusik) gezeigt werden.

Eintritt € 25 | € 20

Salzkammergut Festwochen Gmunden

Copyrights: (c) Alexander Eder, (c) Bianca Freilinger

 

Konzert Counter & Strings am Samstag, 11. Juni um 19:30 in der Katholischen Pfarrkirche Bad Ischl