Komitee

© Valerie Assmann

Aleida Assmann

Aleida Assmann is a German literature and cultural studies scholar specializing in the history of memory. In her work on cultural memory, remembrance, and forgetting, she examines the role that remembering the Holocaust and admitting one's guilt play for the German nation. Her scholarly works are known not only among academics, but reach a broader audience. She received the Max Planck Research Prize for her interdisciplinary research in the field of memory history. Together with her husband, the Egyptologist Jan Assmann, she received the Peace Prize of the German Book Trade in 2018.

© Peter Rigaud

Hannes Androsch

Hannes Androsch was Minister of Finance during the period of the SPÖ's all-party government from 1970 to 1981 and Vice Chancellor of the Republic of Austria from 1976. After that, Androsch, who holds a doctorate in economics, was General Manager of Creditanstalt. Since 1989 he has been active as an industrialist, including as Chairman of the Supervisory Boards of AT&S, Salinen Austria and EUROPTEN. In his self-image as a citoyen, he is involved in social, economic and science policy, for example as the initiator of the education referendum. Among other things, he is also the main investor in the start-up company TLL The Longevity Labs. 

Hannes Androsch is a sought-after commentator on current affairs as well as the editor and author of numerous publications.

© Nik Hunger

Klaus Maria Brandauer

Klaus Maria Brandauer comes from Altaussee in Styria and is one of the most important and well-known stage and film actors of our time. He has been a member of the ensemble of the Vienna Burgtheater for more than forty years. Klaus Maria Brandauer's international film career began as early as 1970 with "Salzburg Connection". With István Szabó he realized the trilogy "Mephisto", "Oberst Redl" and "Hanussen". He played in "James Bond 007 - Never say never", as well as in "Beyond Africa" by Sydney Pollack. Recently, his participation in "Die Auslöschung" and "Der Fall Wilhelm Reich" attracted great attention. In addition to his acting activities, Klaus Maria Brandauer also directs. Klaus Maria Brandauer regularly performs in readings and musical-literary programs, and is also a professor at the Max Reinhardt Seminar in Vienna.

© Konrad Fersterer

Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern was born in Bad Goisern in 1952. In 1987 he founded the Alpinkatzen Alpinkatzen and begins with the deconstruction of alpine folk music. He is considered the inventor of the so-called "alpine rock". Numerous musical projects in the field of tension between world and folk music, between tradition and modernity. His tours and musical travels have taken him across Europe, the USA, to the Arab world, Tibet and Africa.

2007 - 2009 he toured with a concert ship from Linz over the Danube to the Black Sea and over the Rhine to the North Sea, in which over 100 musicians* from 12 countries took part. The Brenna tuatsBrenna tuats tour in 2011 became one of the most successful of his career, and in 2015 the Amadeus Austrian Music Awards winner was himself on the big screen with the biographical documentary film Brenna has been doing it for a long time to see. In 2018, the Hubert von Goisern Culture Prize was founded, and in May 2020 his first novel was published FlüchtigThe new studio album Times & Signs will be released on August 28, 2020. Hubert von Goisern will be back on tour in 2022.

© Robert Rieger für Egon Zehnder

Xenia Hausner

Xenia Hausner was born in 1951 into a Viennese family of artists. She studied stage design at the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna and at the Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London, and designed sets for theaters and opera houses, including Covent Garden in London, the Burgtheater in Vienna, the Theâtre de la Monnaie in Brussels, and the Salzburg Festival. From 1992 Xenia Hausner turned exclusively to painting.

Her works are shown internationally in galleries, museums and art fairs. Xenia Hausner lives and works in Berlin, Vienna and at the Traunsee.

© Rudi Gigler

Johanna Mitterbauer

Johanna Mitterbauer grew up in Vienna and has lived in Gmunden, Upper Austria since 2008. She studied International Business Administration in Vienna, Paris, Oxford and Berlin. She has been working at the Salzkammergut Festwochen Gmunden since 2012 and has been commercial director since 2019. It is particularly important to her to appeal to young audiences and, in addition to the genres of music, visual arts and architecture, to bring theater back into focus with former Burgtheater director Karin Bergmann. Her heart's project for the Capital of Culture 2024 is Maestro Franz Welser-Möst's "Hausmusik Roas".

© Kevin Schünemann

Tom Neuwirth aka Conchita Wurst

In 2011, Austrian artist Thomas Neuwirth created the art figure Conchita Wurst. As a bearded diva, he won the Eurovision Song Contest in 2014 and overnight became a global figurehead of the LGBTI community.

Since then, the platinum award-winning debut album Conchita (2015), der zweite Longplayer From Vienna With Love with the Vienna Symphony Orchestra (2018), and the third studio album T.O.M. – Truth Over Magnitude (2019) with electro-pop and the new stage name WURST. An orchestral tour took him to Australia, among other places, in early 2020. As a host acted Conchita WURST at the Life Ballthe opening of the Wiener Festwochen und großen TV-Musikshows wie Eurovision Song Contest, or the Amadeus Austrian Music AwardsThe artist supports socio-political causes. Conchita was the 2019 EuroPride Vienna Ambassador, has been a Stonewall Day Ambassador since 2018, and supports the United Nations Free & Equal campaign.

© Bernhard Müller

Helga Rabl-Stadler

Helga Rabl-Stadler, born in Salzburg in 1948, received her doctorate in law in 1970. In the same year, she began her career as a political journalist in Vienna. She succeeded in particular as the first female columnist in the daily newspaper Kurier. In 1978 she returned to Salzburg and became an authorized signatory, later sole owner of the family-owned fashion house. In 1985 she became the first woman vice president and in 1988 president of the Chamber of Commerce for Salzburg. At the same time, she was a member of the National Council for the Austrian People's Party (ÖVP) for seven years and served as its deputy federal chairman from 1991 to 1994.

She was president of the Salzburg Festival from 1995 to 2021. The period of her presidency saw the greatest successes in sponsorship, the construction of the new Haus für Mozart and a comprehensive renovation and modernization of the Festival halls. She received numerous honors, including being named Commandeur de l'ordre des arts et des lettres and the Kennedy Center Gold Medal in the Arts. 2018

© Julia Wesely

Franz Welser-Möst

Franz Welser-Möst is one of the most influential conductors of our time, both in the operatic and symphonic fields.For more than 20 years, he has shaped the orchestra's distinctive sonic culture as the long-serving music director of the Cleveland Orchestra

Since Welser-Möst, the orchestra's program has increasingly included world premieres and - continuing the orchestra's history - opera productions in Severance Hall. Through innovative education projects and collaborations, Cleveland has the youngest audience in the United States. He will lead the Cleveland Orchestra until 2027.

Franz Welser-Möst has a particularly close and productive artistic partnership with the Vienna Philharmonic. Since 2014, he has conducted the orchestra every summer at the Salzburg Festival, setting trend-setting new standards as an opera and concert conductor. Under his musical direction were the historic memorial concerts in Sarajevo and in Versailles. He took the podium for the Summer Night Concert in 2010 and for the New Year's Concert in 2011 and 2013, which he will conduct again in 2023.

Kommitee

Aleida Assmann

Aleida Assmann ist deutsche Literatur- und Kulturwissenschaftlerin mit Schwerpunkt Gedächtnisgeschichte. In ihren Arbeiten zu den Themen kulturelles Gedächtnis, Erinnerung und Vergessen untersucht sie, welche Rolle das Erinnern an den Holocaust und das Eingeständnis der eigenen Schuld für die deutsche Nation spielen. Ihre wissenschaftlichen Werke sind nicht nur unter Akademikern bekannt, sondern erreichen ein breiteres Publikum. Für ihre interdisziplinäre Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Gedächtnisgeschichte erhielt sie den Max-Planck-Forschungspreis. Gemeinsam mit ihrem Mann, dem Ägyptologen Jan Assmann, erhielt sie 2018 den Friedenspreis des Deutschen Buchhandels.

Hannes Androsch

Hannes Androsch war in der Zeit der SPÖ-Alleinregierung von 1970 bis 1981 Finanzminister und ab 1976 Vizekanzler der Republik Österreich. Danach war der promovierte Wirtschaftswissenschaftler Generaldirektor der Creditanstalt. Seit 1989 als Industrieller tätig, u.a. als Aufsichtsratsvorsitzender von AT&S, der Salinen Austria und EUROPTEN. In seinem Selbstverständnis als Citoyen ist er gesellschafts-, wirtschafts- und wissenschaftspolitisch engagiert, etwa als Initiator des Bildungsvolksbegehrens. Er ist u.a. auch Hauptinvestor des Start-Up-Unternehmens TLL The Longevity Labs. 

Hannes Androsch ist gefragter Kommentator zum Zeitgeschehen sowie Herausgeber und Autor zahlreicher Publikationen.

Klaus Maria Brandauer

Klaus Maria Brandauer stammt aus Altaussee in der Steiermark und gehört zu den wichtigsten und bekanntesten Bühnen- und Filmschauspielern unserer Zeit. Seit mehr als vierzig Jahren ist er Mitglied im Ensemble des Wiener Burgtheaters. Bereits 1970 begann Klaus Maria Brandauers internationale Filmkarriere mit „Salzburg Connection“. Mit István Szabó realisierte er die Trilogie „Mephisto“, „Oberst Redl“ und „Hanussen“. Er spielte in „James Bond 007 – Sag niemals nie“, sowie in „Jenseits von Afrika“ von Sydney Pollack. Große Beachtung fanden zuletzt seine Mitwirkungen „Die Auslöschung“ sowie in „Der Fall Wilhelm Reich“. Neben seiner schauspielerischen Tätigkeit führt Klaus Maria Brandauer auch Regie. Klaus Maria Brandauer ist regelmäßig mit Lesungen und musikalisch-literarischen Programmen zu erleben, darüber hinaus ist er Professor am Max-Reinhardt-Seminar in Wien.

Hubert von Goisern

Hubert von Goisern wurde 1952 in Bad Goisern geboren. 1987 gründete er die Alpinkatzen und beginnt mit der Dekonstruktion alpiner Volksmusik. Er gilt als Erfinder des sogenannten „Alpenrock“. Zahlreiche musikalische Projekte im Spannungsfeld zwischen Welt- und Volksmusik, zwischen Tradition und Moderne. Seine Tourneen und musikalischen Reisen führten ihn quer durch Europa, die USA, in den arabischen Raum, nach Tibet und Afrika.

2007 – 2009 tourte er mit einem Konzertschiff von Linz aus über die Donau zum Schwarzen Meer und über den Rhein an die Nordsee, daran nahmen über 100 Musiker*innen aus 12 Ländern teil. Die Brenna tuats–Tour 2011 wurde zu einer der erfolgreichsten seiner Karriere, 2015 war der Amadeus Austrian Music Awards Gewinner selbst auf der großen Leinwand mit dem biografischen Dokumentarfilm Brenna tuat’s schon lang zu sehen. 2018 wurde der Hubert von Goisern Kulturpreis gegründet, im Mai 2020 erschien sein erster Roman, Flüchtig. Das neue Studioalbum Zeiten & Zeichen erscheint am 28. August 2020. 2022 ist Hubert von Goisern wieder auf Tournee.

Xenia Hausner

Xenia Hausner wird 1951 in eine Wiener Künstlerfamilie geboren. Sie studierte Bühnenbild an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien sowie an der Royal Academy of Dramatic Art in London, entwarf Ausstattungen für Theater und Oper, darunter Covent Garden in London, das Burgtheater in Wien, das Theâtre de la Monnaie in Brüssel sowie die Salzburger Festspiele. Ab1992 wendet sich Xenia Hausner ausschließlich der Malerei zu.

Ihre Werke werden international in Galerien, Museen und Kunstmessen gezeigt. Xenia Hausner lebt und arbeitet in Berlin, Wien und am Traunsee.

Johanna Mitterbauer

Johanna Mitterbauer ist in Wien aufgewachsen und lebt seit 2008 in Gmunden, Oberösterreich. Sie studierte Internationale Betriebswirtschaft in Wien, Paris, Oxford und Berlin. Seit 2012 arbeitet sie bei den Salzkammergut Festwochen Gmunden und ist seit 2019 kaufmännische Geschäftsführerin. Besonders wichtig ist ihr dabei, junges Publikum anzusprechen und neben den Sparten Musik, bildende Kunst und Architektur auch das Theater mit der ehemaligen Burgtheater Direktorin Karin Bergmann wieder in den Mittelpunkt zu rücken. Ihr Herzensprojekt für die Kulturhauptstadt 2024 ist die „Hausmusik Roas“ von Maestro Franz Welser-Möst.

Tom Neuwirth aka Conchita Wurst

2011 hat der österreichische Künstler Thomas Neuwirth die Kunstfigur Conchita Wurst ins Leben gerufen. Als bärtige Diva gewann er 2014 den Eurovision Song Contest und wurde über Nacht zu einer globalen Galionsfigur der LGBTI-Community.

Seither folgten das Platin-prämierte Debütalbum Conchita (2015), der zweite Longplayer From Vienna With Love mit den Wiener Symphonikern (2018), und das dritte Studioalbum T.O.M. – Truth Over Magnitude (2019) mit Elektro-Pop und dem neuen Künstlernamen WURST. Eine Orchestertour führte ihn unter anderem Anfang 2020 nach Australien. Als Host fungierte Conchita WURST beim Life Ball, der Eröffnung der Wiener Festwochen und großen TV-Musikshows wie Eurovision Song Contestoder den Amadeus Austrian Music Awards. Der Künstler unterstützt gesellschaftspolitische Anliegen. Conchita war 2019 Ambassador der EuroPride Vienna, ist seit 2018 Stonewall Day Ambassador und unterstützt die Free & Equal Kampagne der Vereinten Nationen.

Helga Rabl-Stadler

Helga Rabl-Stadler, geboren 1948 in Salzburg, promovierte 1970 zum Doktor der Rechte. Im gleichen Jahr begann sie in Wien ihre Laufbahn als politische Journalistin. Sie reüssierte insbesondere als erste weibliche Kolumnistin in der Tageszeitung Kurier. 1978 kehrte sie nach Salzburg zurück und wurde Prokuristin, später Alleineigentümerin des familieneigenen Modehauses. 1985 wurde sie als erste Frau Vizepräsidentin und 1988 Präsidentin der Kammer der gewerblichen Wirtschaft für Salzburg. Parallel dazu war sie sieben Jahre lang Nationalratsabgeordnete für die ÖVP und fungierte von 1991 bis 1994 als deren Bundesobmann-Stellvertreterin.

Von 1995 bis 2021 war sie Präsidentin der Salzburger Festspiele. In die Zeit Ihrer Präsidentschaft fallen die größten Erfolge im Sponsoring, der Neubau Haus für Mozart und eine umfassende Renovierung und Modernisierung der Festspielhäuser.  Sie erhielt zahlreiche Ehrungen, darunter die Ernennung zum Commandeur de l’ordre des arts et des lettres sowie die Kennedy Center Gold Medal in the Arts. 2018

Franz Welser-Möst

Franz Welser-Möst zählt zu den prägenden Dirigentenpersönlichkeiten unserer Zeit sowohl im Opern- als auch im symphonischen Bereich.Seit über 20 Jahren prägt er als längst amtierender Musikdirektor des Cleveland Orchestra die unverwechselbare Klangkultur des Orchesters.

Seit Welser-Möst stehen verstärkt Uraufführungen sowie – anknüpfend an die Geschichte des Orchesters – Opernproduktionen in der Severance Hall am Programm. Durch innovative Education-Projekte und Kooperationen konnte erreicht werden, dass Cleveland das jüngste Publikum in den USA hat. Er wird das Cleveland Orchestra bis 2027 leiten.

Franz Welser-Möst verbindet eine besonders enge und produktive künstlerische Partnerschaft mit den Wiener Philharmonikern. Seit 2014 dirigiert er das Orchester jeden Sommer bei den Salzburger Festspielen und setzt als Opern- und Konzertdirigent richtungsweisende neue Maßstäbe. Unter seiner musikalischen Leitung standen die historischen Gedenkkonzerte in Sarajewo und in Versailles. Er stand 2010 am Pult des Sommernachtskonzertes und in den Jahren 2011 und 2013 am Pult des Neujahrskonzerts, das er 2023 erneut leiten wird.