Concept and Program Lines

Our core concept is based on the elements: SALT.WATER. These two elements are essential for everyone – but they are particularly essential for the Salzkammergut. For centuries, SALT and WATER have molded and shaped the region and its people. Four program areas have been designed to reflect these core elements: Power of Tradition, Power of Counterculture, Effects of (Hyper) Tourism and Flow to Retreat.

Our vision is to create an “inclave” of art and culture in the Salzkammergut. The word inclave is a combination of two terms – enclave and inclusion. Two opposing poles merge and create something new: the vision of the inclave. With our art and culture program, we want to open up a way into the Salzkammergut and connect the Capital of Culture region with Europe and the world.

Power of Tradition

This program area combines old and new traditions and ranges from music, handicraft, art, customs, theater and dance to inn culture, literature and politics. This program area helps us understand local and global identities. It is a search for traces of our regional history and identity, and at the same time reveals regional origin stories and connections to Europe.

(c) Gerhard Mair

STRENGTH OF COUNTERCULTURE

Countercultural movements in the Salzkammergut originate from working class culture and are rather unusual for a rural region. Counterculture is still vital in the lake region to this day. The stubbornness and hard-headedness of Salzkammergut residents is infamous. We are not concerned by oppositional views – we welcome productive questioning, and hope to provide a space for challenging discourse and new, unconventional cultural forms and formats.

(c) Schwestern von Rigel 4

IMPACT OF (HYPER-)TOURISM

The effects of tourism are an issue in many places in the Salzkammergut. The region has always been much yearned for amongst travelers – and some places feel this more than others. This program area is dedicated to the manifold forms of this development. Aspects such as traffic, the encounter between locals and travelers and the type of travel are discussed under this theme.

(c) Gerhard Mair

FLOW TO RETREAT

Many people feel a thirst for retreat or the desire to withdraw. Gaining distance from the hectic hustle and bustle of everyday life and finding refuge are understandable wishes in uncertain times. The landscape of the Salzkammergut, a region with a long history as a summer retreat, is ideal for quenching this thirst. What is considered relaxation for people, however, can be stressful for nature and the environment. In this program area we will deal with this tension.

(c) Rocky Cody

Konzept und Programmlinien

Unser Kernkonzept basiert auf den Elementen SALZ.WASSER. Diese beiden Elemente sind nicht nur für jede*n Menschen lebensnotwendig, sondern auch für das Salzkammergut wesentlich. Über Jahrhunderte haben SALZ und WASSER die Region und seine Menschen geformt und geprägt. Wir besinnen uns auf diesen Kern und haben davon ausgehend 4 Programmlinien entworfen, in denen wir uns mit unterschiedlichen Aspekten auseinandersetzen wollen: Macht der Tradition, Kraft der Gegenkultur, Auswirkungen des (Hyper)Tourismus und Durst auf Rückzug.

Unsere Vision ist, durch Kunst und Kultur im Salzkammergut eine Inklave zu schaffen. Die Inklave ist eine Wortkreation und verbindet die beiden Begriffe Enklave und Inklusion miteinander. Zwei gegensätzliche Pole verschmelzen und erzeugen Neues: Die Vision der Inklave. Durch unser Kunst- und Kulturprogramm wollen wir es schaffen, die Wege ins Salzkammergut zu öffnen und die Kulturhauptstadt-Region mit Europa und der Welt zu verbinden.

Macht der Tradition

Diese Programmlinie vereint alte bis neuere Traditionen in sich und reicht von Musik, Handwerk, Kunst über Brauchtum, Theater und Tanz bis hin zur Wirtshauskultur, Literatur und Politik. Diese Programmlinie hilft uns beim Verstehen lokaler und globaler Identitäten. Sie ist eine Spurensuche in unserer Region und legt zugleich ihre Entstehungsgeschichten und Verbindungen nach Europa frei.

(c) Gerhard Mair

KRAFT DER GEGENKULTUR

Gegenkulturelle Bewegungen im Salzkammergut entstammen der Arbeiter*innenkultur und sind eher ungewöhnlich für eine ländliche Region. Gegenkultur ist in der Seenregion bis heute vital. Berühmt-berüchtigt stellt sich die Stur- und Starrköpfigkeit der Salzkammergütler*innen dar, doch es geht uns nicht um das prinzipielle Dagegensein, sondern vielmehr um ein produktives Hinterfragen, einen Raum für Diskurs und neue, unkonventionelle Kulturformen und –formate.

(c) Schwestern von Rigel 4

AUSWIRKUNGEN DES (HYPER)TOURISMUS

Die Auswirkungen des Tourismus sind vielerorts im Salzkammergut ein Thema. Seit jeher ist das Salzkammergut Sehnsuchtsort vieler Reisender – manche Orte spüren dies mehr als andere. Diese Programmlinie widmet sich der mannigfaltigen Ausgestaltung dieser Entwicklung. Aspekte wie Verkehr, die Begegnung zwischen Einheimischen und Reisenden und die Art des Reisens werden in dieser Linie thematisiert.

(c) Gerhard Mair

DURST AUF RÜCKZUG

Durst auf Rückzug bzw. den Wunsch, sich zurückzuziehen, verspüren viele Menschen. Abstand vom hektischen Treiben des Alltags gewinnen und Zuflucht finden sind nachvollziehbare Wünsche in unsicheren Zeiten. Die Landschaft des Salzkammerguts, einer Region mit langer Sommerfrische-Tradition, eignet sich hervorragend, um diesen Durst zu stillen. Was für Menschen jedoch Erholung ist, kann für die Natur und Umwelt belastend sein. In dieser Programmlinie werden wir auf dieses Spannungsverhältnis eingehen.

(c) Rocky Cody